BETRAYED.

BETRAYED

The heart on the left
didn’t feel right
for the first time ever
No matter how hard I tried
The brain seemed dull
the heart bright.

When trusting you
was the unwanted path,
a path of broken glasses
the vains still sore
from bruise and scratches.

Yet I took everything in
faked it with a smile
letting you kidnap
my thoughts, my life.

What I wouldn’t do
with a sword
you were a coward,
for a kiss was enough.

I was betrayed
for letting you in
not realising too soon
should have seen you leave
But can I say it was you
who dug this hole
when my own smile
betrayed my soul.

[NaPoWrMo Poem 1]

poetry prompt by http://wedrinkbecausewerepoets.com

One thought on “BETRAYED.

  1. Pingback: Poetry Prompt #4 – Results | We Drink Because We're Poets

If you like it.......say it......

